Faculty & Board

OUR FACULTY STRIVES to work and study together artfully, out of the indications of Rudolf Steiner. We share beliefs that guide us in our work: a willingness to grow and develop, both individually and as a school; to work mindfully; to teach creatively and with love; and to nurture a supportive and active community.

Early Childhood Faculty

Marianne Böckli, Director of Early Childhood

Marianne is originally from Switzerland, where she received her B.A. in Early Childhood teaching. She also holds a Waldorf Grade School Teacher certificate. Marianne has worked at Ashwood in various capacities for more than two decades as lead kindergarten teacher, class teacher, parent & child playgroup teacher, board member, and leadership council member. She enjoys hiking, reading, cinema, travel, and languages.

Grade School Faculty

Elizabeth Doshi

doshiwebElizabeth has experience teaching in Waldorf schools from New England to Singapore. She earned a master’s degree in Waldorf education at Antioch University. Elizabeth says: “The story of my Waldorf teaching journey covers many states and continents! Each school bestowed upon me the many gifts that only loving parents, children, and colleagues can give. The community of a Waldorf school can be very supportive and protective, and it can also be a wonderful challenge. I have experienced these things and much more. Traveling around the states and living overseas has allowed me to experience an immense diversity of people and work environments. I am grateful for these opportunities and believe they have made me a richer person and teacher.”

Robert Kaczor

Robert studied at Green Mountain Valley School and Mohawk Valley Community College. During his undergraduate work in elementary education, he realized he wanted to teach in a different environment with a different philosophy. While he was describing his ideas about education to a friend, she told him he was describing Waldorf education. He looked into it and his excitement was renewed! Robert went on to Antioch New England where he received his Waldorf teaching certificate. His internship was at Pine Hill Waldorf School. Robert joined the Ashwood faculty in 2005.

Laura Purdom

Laura came to Ashwood in 2006 after careers in writing and graphic design. At Ashwood, Laura builds upon her lifelong love of theater, song, language, and life’s big questions: she has been a class teacher, director of marketing & outreach, and a specialty teacher. She particularly delights in teaching and performing traditional music from around the world and in guiding student theatrical productions. Laura has traveled in South Asia, North Africa, Europe, and the Middle East and published four travel guidebooks. She lived in Paris while pursuing theatrical studies and performed with improv comedy troupes in Boston and beyond. She has a master’s degree from Harvard Divinity School. In her spare time, Laura enjoys thinking about what she might do if she had any spare time.

Jeremy Clough

Jeremy earned a B.A. in psychology with a Spanish minor, and considered becoming a teacher. After a friend with children at a Waldorf school mentioned that his values might fit well with Waldorf education, Jeremy applied to Antioch New England Graduate School in the Waldorf education program. After an internship and substitute teaching at the Lake Champlain Waldorf School, Jeremy came to Ashwood in 2006. He graduated his class of eighth grade students in 2011.
Jeremy’s other interests are hiking, canoeing, skiing, cycling, traveling, reading, gardening, and whitewater rafting.

Administrative Faculty

School Director: Jeremy Clough

See Jeremy’s biography above.

Business Manager: Tamara Cody

Bio coming soon.

Marketing & Outreach Director: Laura Purdom

See above.

Administrative Assistant: Sarah Ewing

After earning a B.A in English from Earlham College, Sarah, a native Mainer, spent a few years working in intentional communities in Maine, Vermont, and New Zealand before returning to settle in the midcoast. Before coming to Ashwood, Sarah worked at Lie-Nielsen Toolworks, where she held positions from machine operator to marketing director. In her free time she loves to work with wood, do almost anything outside, eat, play music, and spend time with her family.

Board of Trustees

Ashwood’s Board of Trustees is made up of members drawn from the parent body, faculty, and community. The board oversees the legal and fiscal life of the school, with primary responsibility for fundraising and budget approval. Board meetings are held every month and are open by request, in advance, to the board president. 

  • John Morin, President
  • Dick Weeks, Vice President
  • Tom Tansi, Treasurer
  • Valerie Shepard, Secretary
  • Lee Chisholm
  • Ronnie Blaisdell
  • Robert Kaczor
  • Lisa Newcomb
  • Annalise Parham
  • Margo Burnham
  • Jeremy Clough, School Director

To contact the board, please email: board@ashwoodwaldorf.org.